Record Bowl


Hello everyone!
Recently I’ve had this obsession with cool retro things. Things like records and anything to do with them. So when I came across this pin I knew I wanted to give it a go.

image

I found instructions on: http://m.instructables.com/id/Vinyl-Fruit-Bowl/
So let’s get straight into it!

Supplies
A record (that you don’t want to listen to again)
A tray
An oven
A bowl

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 100C.
2.Put the record on the tray, then place it in the oven for a few minutes. Take it out when it is floppy and you can bend it to different shapes.
3. To shape the bowl I placed it inside another bowl slightly larger than the record.
4. Once the record cools, it will harden into place and stay that way. If you’re not happy with it, just put it back in the oven for a bit and reshape it.

The Results:

image
This was a fun and simple pin and I love the way it turned out. You could use it for a practical purpose but I think it looks great as it is and should be displayed for all to see. I would definitely recommend trying out this pin. But if you do try it I’d suggest using gloves or oven mitts when dealing with the hot tray and record. This pin went exactly as planned but I like it because even if you do mess up you can just reheat it and do it again.

If you have any ideas or suggestions comment on this post and I’ll see if I can do it. Come back soon to check my next post.

-The Pin Tester

Leave a comment